— assembled by Philip K. Jason 

The 2012 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize

Postmark deadline: January 30 (annual)
Submissions accepted: December 1 – January 30
Eligibility and Guidelines:
  • The competition is open to all writers regardless of geographical location or prior publication.
  • Submit two copies of an unpublished fiction manuscript not to exceed 12 double-spaced pages (1″ margins, 12-pt. font).
  • Author’s name should not appear on manuscripts. Instead, include a separate cover sheet with name, address, phone number, e-mail address, word count, and manuscript title.
  • An entry fee must accompany the manuscript: $15 for NCWN members, $25 for nonmembers. Checks should be made payable to the North Carolina Writers’ Network.
  • You may pay the member entry fee if you join the NCWN with your submission. Checks should be made payable to the North Carolina Writers’ Network.
  • Entries will not be returned.
  • The winner is announced each April.
  • Send submission to:
 Professor Anthony S. Abbott
PO Box 7096
Davidson College
Davidson, NC 28035
2011 saw the highest number of submissions in the history of the Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize. Winner Kristin Fitzpatrick of Alameda, California, took home the $1,000 purse.
The nonprofit North Carolina Writers’ Network is the state’s oldest and largest literary arts services organization devoted to writers at all stages of development. For additional information, visit www.ncwriters.org.





 The Key West Literary Seminar welcomes readers and writers to this subtropical island city. Our flagship program is the annual Seminar, which explores a unique literary theme each January through a four-day production of readings, lectures, and conversations. Our Writers’ Workshop Program offers instruction and community to writers of all levels, while our awards and scholarships recognize emerging writers of exceptional merit and support teachers and librarians. Through LITTORAL, our online journal, and our Audio Archives Project, we present exclusive literary resources to readers worldwide. Our 30th annual Seminar takes place January 5–8, 2012. Yet Another World: Literature of the Future.


Eckerd College Writers’ Conference: Writers in Paradise


Join best-selling authors, Andre Dubus III (House of Sand and Fog, The Garden of Last Days, and Townie), Elizabeth Berg (Once Upon a Time, There Was You, Open House, and The Last Time I Saw You), and Dennis Lehane (Moonlight Mile, Shutter Island, and The Given Day) for the Eighth Annual Eckerd College Writers’ Conference: Writers in Paradise, on the shores of Boca Ciega Bay at Eckerd College in St. Petersburg, Florida, January 14-22, 2012.


Savannah Book Festival


February 15-19, 2012


SleuthFest 2012


Florida’s Premier Mystery Writer’s Conference

March 1 – 4, 2012 at the Royal Plaza located in the Walt Disney World® Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, Florida  




Tennessee Wiliams New Orleans Literary Festival


March 21-15, 2012


Carolinas Writers Conference


 The fourth annual Carolinas Writers Conference will be held April 14, 2012. The conference presenters are the Anson County Writer’s Club, the Hampton B. Allen Library, and South Piedmont Community College. Featured authors include Anthony Abbott and Margaret Maron For more information, contact: info@ansoncountywritersclub.org


Tallahassee Book Festival and Writers Conference


May 4-6, 2012 Monroe Street Conference Center and Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites at Intersection of Graves Rd. and I-10. Tallahassee, FL

*We are happy to post literary events occuring in the Southern states.  You can also add such postings as “Comments” to this blog entry.

Leave a Reply