Bard Fiction Prize Deadline July 15

Bard College Bard Fiction Prize Deadline: July 15, 2011        A prize of $30,000 and a one-semester appointment as writer-in-residence at Bard College is given annually to a U.S. fiction writer under the age of 40. The recipient must give at least one public lecture and meet informally with students, but is not expected […]

Country Roads Magazine Short Story Contest

Country Roads magazine’s tenth annual Regional Writings issue will be published in June 2011, featuring the winners of their annual Short Story Contest and Readers’ Choice Award. Writers of Louisiana and Mississippi are now invited to submit works of fiction or haiku for a chance at publication. Submission deadline is Tuesday, March 15. A panel […]

University of Louisville Italo Calvino Prize

  University of Louisville Italo Calvino Prize in Fabulist Fiction A prize of $1,500, publication in Salt Hill Journal, and an all-expenses-paid trip to read at the University of Louisville’s annual Louisville Conference on Literature and Culture is given annually for a work of fabulist fiction written in the vein of Italo Calvino. Submit up […]

Tufts Poetry Awards

Don’t miss the deadline for the prestigious Tufts Poetry Awards sponsored by Claremont Graduate University. Deadline: September 15, 2010 Website:   The $100,000 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award is given annually to honor a book of poetry by a midcareer U.S. poet. The winner will spend one week in residence at Claremont Graduate University in California. The $10,000 […]

Guggenheim Fellowships

Guggenheim Fellowships average around $36,000 each. Mark your calendars for this important deadline. Deadline: September 15, 2010 Website:     Guggenheim Fellowships are awarded annually to poets, fiction writers, and creative nonfiction writers who are residents of the United States and Canada “on the basis of achievement and exceptional promise.” Submit a career summary, […]

New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award

Deadline: August 27, 2010 Web: E-mail address: Entry Fee: None A prize of $10,000 is given annually to honor a novel or short story collection by a U.S. citizen who is 35 or younger. Publishers and agents may submit 10 copies of a book (or bound galleys) published in 2010, a nomination form, […]