Low-Residency MFA in Creative Writing at The University of Tampa

Jeff Parker, Director of the MFA in Creative Writing program at The University of Tampa, is trying to get word out about the new Low-Residency MFA (see what low-residency means) at The University of Tampa, which, at its core, is about one-on-one mentorship between faculty and students.

At just one-year-old, this program has already brought in guest writers including Michael Connelly, Nick Flynn, Denis Johnson, Francine Prose, and George Saunders. And it has assembled a teaching faculty including prose writers Maile Chapman, Brock Clarke, and Terese Svoboda as well as poets Erica Dawson, Arielle Greenberg, Peter Meinke, and Donald Morrill. With a global focus on literature, the MFA faculty at Tampa also includes British novelist Tibor Fischer, Russian-American Mikhail Iossel, and Croatian-American Josip Novakovich.

The program is still accepting applications for January residency, but only as long as there are still spaces available! Classes begin Jan. 7.

To get a feel for the kind of things that happen during residency, check out video clips of Michael Connelly, Arthur Flowers, Nick Flynn, and George Saunders reading during our programs.

About Allen Mendenhall

Allen Mendenhall is publisher and editor-in-chief of Southern Literary Review. Visit his website at AllenMendenhall.com.

Leave a Reply