Archives for March 2011

Small Displacements Nails Turning Points in Characters’ Lives

Click to Buy   Small Displacements Review by Donna Meredith      When I was given Vanessa Furse Jackson’s short story collection Small Displacements, I almost sent it back. I’m glad I didn’t. I don’t often warm up to short stories the way I do to novels, perhaps because I don’t get to spend enough time […]

Velva Jean Learns to Drive, by Jennifer Niven

Click to Buy    Velva Jean Learns to Drive, by Jennifer Niven Review by Philip K. Jason      Jennifer Niven has fashioned a delightful and probing fiction set in the remote Appalachian communities of North Carolina. We first encounter the title character, Velva Jean Hart, in 1933. She is a ten year old whose mind is […]

Sweet Read: The Peach Keeper, by Sarah Addison Allen

Click to Buy       New York Times bestselling author Sarah Addison Allen does it again! Fans of Garden Spells, The Sugar Queen, and The Girl Who Chased the Moon will not be disappointed with Allen’s latest magical novel, The Peach Keeper, due to hit shelves March 22.      In trademark style, Allen masterfully weaves a […]

Patricia O’Sullivan

Patricia O’Sullivan holds advanced degrees in theology and in history and teaches at the University of Mississippi. She writes historical novels about colonial America including Hope of Israel, a top 100 semifinalist in the 2008 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award, and the forthcoming, Legend of the Dead.  Click to Buy

The Queen of Palmyra, by Minrose Gwin

Click to Buy   The Queen of Palmyra by Minrose Gwin Review by Rhett DeVane      Minrose Gwin’s novel The Queen of Palmyra beautifully captures the delicate tipping point between Florence Forrest’s tormented childhood and young adulthood. At a time when eleven-year-old Flo should be giggling with friends, she is forced instead into the dark […]

Tested: How Twelve Wrongly Imprisoned Men Held onto Hope

Click to Buy Tested: How Twelve Wrongly Imprisoned Men Held onto Hope  (Dallas, TX: Brown Books Publishing Group, 2010) Review by Allen Mendenhall        DNA technology has revolutionized our criminal justice system. The acceptance and widespread use of post-conviction DNA testing for imprisoned individuals has led to exonerations all across America. Organizations such as […]

Meet Irene Latham, Author of Leaving Gee’s Bend

Leaving Gee’s Bendauthor, Irene Latham, recently charmed a packed audience during her visit to Oxford, Mississippi. Below, she’s generously shared her thoughts on writing and quilting with SLR contributor Abigail Greenbaum. Enjoy. SLR: How did you discover the quilts of Gee’s Bend, and why did they move you so deeply? What about these quilts in particular, so […]

Leaving Gee’s Bend, by Irene Latham

     Click to Buy  Reviewed by Abigail Greenbaum      By now, nearly everyone has heard of the Gee’s Bend quilts. Maybe you saw them in New York City, where Leaving Gee’s Bend author and Alabama writer Irene Latham first discovered their bright colors and irreverent patterns, their sense of place and history. Or maybe you’ve […]